Monday, January 30th: College Applications, Alternative Truths, and Good Music

I’m nearly done with the first month of my second semester of college here at Santa Fe and Im finally starting to get back into the rhythm of things. The past week was pretty much stress free so I’m hoping that will be a continuing trend. I have a couple of trips coming up in February and I’ll get to see my family so I’m excited for that. Also, I’m applying for the University of Florida next month since the deadline is in March and after meeting with my transfer advisor it seems like I’m in pretty good standing to be accepted for Fall 2017. I won’t know if I got accepted until April at the earliest so hearing a positive opinion from my transfer advisor was definitely comforting.

Image result for 1984 george orwell book coverIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 Currently I’m reading 1984 by George Orwell. 1984 is a dystopian book told from the perspective of Wilson who works for the oppressive regime, led by the infamous Big Brother. It’s often considered a classic and I recently felt compelled to read it after reading that its currently the #1 bestseller on Amazon and that there might be a correlation between its resurgence in popularity and the current political climate as well as the controversy surrounding the NSA and figures like Edward Snowden in recent years. I finished part one of the three part book which puts me at 104 pages in. It seems like most people have some sort of familiarity with the book, or at least have heard something to the extent of “big brother is watching you.” Below I’ve put up a quote that I found impactful in light of the “alternative truth” controversy thats been in the news recently

“Doublethink means the power of holding two contradictory beliefs in one’s mind simultaneously, and accepting both of them.”
– George Orwell, 1984
Aside from reading 1984 but still keeping in line with classics, recently I’ve been spending some time listening and diving into some really great old music. I realized that my knowledge of some of the greatest artist of all time was somewhat limited and I wanted to see how songs from the 60’s 70’s and 80’s still influence music today. Ive really enjoyed getting more and more familiar with Bob Dylan’s songwriting, the shear musicianship of The Beatles, and the incredible voices of early R&B singers like Ray Charles, Sam Cooke, and Etta James. If you like music and you’ve never listened to these legends or don’t think you’ll like them, I strongly suggest at least giving them a chance and listening through some of their most popular work.
I feel like it would only be fitting to end with a Bob Dylan quote so I’ll leave this here as somewhat of a benediction from the GOAT.
“May your heart always be joyful. May your song always be sung.”
– Bob Dylan, Forever Young
475 words
Leave a Reply

