Monday, February 20th: Pre-Spring Break School Stress and More Classic Novels

February will be over soon and that means spring break! The past few weeks have been incredibly busy with school but its been good none the less. I will admit that this semester has been pretty tough and it can feel like no matter how hard I try Im not doing as well as I wish I would be in my classes. Hopefully the second half of the semester will be a different story and my hard work will start to pay off. My UF application is due next week so thats been another source of stress as of recent, so once thats turned in I think things will be going a bit smoother. I’ve also been traveling a lot recently, I traveled to Atlanta last weekend to see my parents and I had to travel to Orlando yesterday on last minute notice and it seems like Im going to have too drive to southern Georgia, Atlanta, Fort Lauderdale, and Orlando again all in the next three weeks so its safe to say I hope to be staying put in Gainesville for a while after that.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Image result for to kill a mockingbird book coverI’m currently reading through Harper Lee‘s 1960 classic novel To Kill a MockingbirdUnfortunately I’m behind in my reading as Im only at page 50 of 281. I really had no idea what the book is about before I began reading it but after reading 50 pages, doing a little research, and talking to my friend about it I have somewhat of a grasp on the plot. It all centers around a widowed lawyer named Atticus, his two kids named Jem and Scout, their friend Dill, and an african american man accused of rape. Atticus is appointed to defend Tom at his trial despite the disapproval from the town, a town set in Alabama in the early 1900’s, an area with a long history of racism. I’ve enjoyed the read so far albeit it can be somewhat difficult at times due to the early 20th century southern vernacular it often uses.

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view-until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.”

-Atticus

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

 

374 words

Leave a Reply

