Monday, March 27th: Summer Is Near And I Love Malcolm Gladwell

In about a month the semester will finally be over and done with and I’m really excited about that. I’ll be taking classes in Gainesville for the first half of the summer and I’m still not completely sure what I’ll be doing for the second half. Im still looking into possible internships and jobs but my options are looking promising. But before I jump the gun and get into full blown summer mode its probably best I focus on the next few weeks of classes and exams. In a previous post I mentioned sending in my application to meet the deadline to transfer to UF but that deadline was actually postponed to mid April which means I still have to take care of that as well. Thankfully, if I finish the semester how I hope to finish I think I can be fairly positive about my application process.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

“Success is not a random act. It arises out of a predictable and powerful set of circumstances and opportunities.”

– Malcolm Gladwell, Outliers

Image result for malcolm gladwell outliers

I’m currently reading Malcolm Gladwell‘s Outliers, a book that analyzes what makes people and things successful. I discovered Malcolm Gladwell through my best friend in high school who had read multiple of his books and quickly became a huge fan. Gladwell is a journalist and author whose works often take academic research in sociology, economics, and psychology and combine them with captivating stories to help look at the hidden side of aspects of everyday life.

“I have two parallel things I’m interested in. One is, I’m interested in collecting interesting stories, and the other is I’m interested in collecting interesting research. What I’m looking for is cases where they overlap”

-Malcolm Gladwell

After reading his Gladwell’s bestseller Blink for myself I knew I wanted to read all his works. Knowing how fascinated I had become with Gladwell a friend bought me a copy of Outliers which has gone undisturbed on my bookshelf till now. Im currently on page 178 of 285 and it is safe to say that the very high expectations I have of Gladwell have been met so far. If you haven’t read any of Gladwell’s books go do yourself a favor and buy a copy because he is a must read author!

381 Words

Leave a Reply

