The End is Near

Related image

Just as the saying goes, all good things must come to an end. I’m currently a week away from finishing the semester and though I will continue to use this blog for other purposes, this means that this post will be the last for my Honors ENC 1102 class. This is sadly true as I’ve really enjoyed reading and reviewing great books as well as putting my thoughts into words in regards to other things that have transpired in my life throughout this semester. Coming into this semester my primary area of interest when it came to reading was non-fiction books, but as the semester progressed and I interacted with more novels from some of the most legendary figures in literature, I found myself with a growing appreciation for fiction books. This appreciation was produced mostly from reading books for ENC 1102, but other event over the course of this past semester also played a part. The most significant of the other events was a project I did for both my Contemporary World Religion class and the Santa Fe Research in Undergraduate Festival about the life and works of C.S. Lewis, one of my favorite authors. One of my favorite things about novels is actually trying to see through novels. By this I mean understanding the forces that brought a particular book to be by looking at the life of the author. I find that learning about the historical setting and the experiences that shaped the authors understanding of life enhances the reading experience allowing you to see even familiar stories in a brand new way. For example learning about how Orwell’s book Animal Farm is allegory for the Soviet Union as I was reading it changed the way I understood and read the book.

I think the most important thing I got out of this class and the readings, beyond a new found appreciation for good fiction, is that I discovered something new about my self, I discovered that I have a fascination for stories. I don’t know how important this self realization will be in the grand scheme of my life, I guess only time will tell. But what I do know is that I’m extremely grateful for the experiences that led me to it.

Thank you if you’ve been a part of this experience in any way, whether it was assigning the blog post in the first place or reading this long after it was written. I know that reading will continue to shape and impact my life and my hope is that you let it do the same for you.

2 thoughts on “The End is Near

  1. I think it is neat that you have a blog and are keeping it. I would like to try it, but I think I would get caught up life and forget about blogging. Anyways, I look forward to seeing your future posts!

    Like

    1. I really enjoyed blogging this semester and it’s really cool that you’re keeping yours. For me, it’s a great way to vent. It’s a little like journaling, but you don’t have to spend so much time writing, haha. Can’t wait to see your posts in the future!

      Like

Leave a Reply

